The Paleo Adventure is over

*dramatic pause*

I’ll get it right out of the way, I’m not giving up on being paleo… but the adventure of eating paleo is over. It has slowly transitioned into just a regular way of life and has been this way for the past few months more or less. At this point it’s more about occasionaly discipline and reminders to “not eat that” or occasionally repeating in my head “no dairy today, no dairy today” and less occasionally “no chocolate today”. The adventurous part of eating paleo is over. Now it’s just life. This is mainly why I haven’t been posting lately. It’s gotten ‘boring’ so to speak. But the ideal diet is the one that isn’t, right?

I still get comments in person about how amazing this worked in such a short amount of time. My father has decided to start transitioning to paleo as well. He got something called the PaleoBurn. I’m not familiar with it but more power to him. I’m curious how he’ll deal with the loss of beer. I think he’s been cutting back on that pretty significantly and has moved more toward red wine. It’s a pretty big change for a 62 year old to make and he attributes it to my success. To me, that’s amazing that I could do something to influence my father so much. Of course, I think it’s a combination of my wife’s amazing weight loss and my own. My mother in law even ‘shows us off’ to her friends. I think she’s trying to transition to a paleo diet as well.

My wife is still full bore with the weight loss. She’s doing another challenge right now. I’ve recently started working a new shift which gets me home much earlier and also gets my day started around 5am now. Once I settle into my new shift, I’m going to use that first half hour of my day to work out at work (we have a gym).

Today’s Weigh In – 217lbs

Also, how about a comparison family photo! One of these is from 2011 and one is from 2013… I’ll let you guess which is which.

258521_10150187006096984_5230092_o 857423_10151328217846984_943198702_o

 

Tagged , , , ,

5 thoughts on “The Paleo Adventure is over

  1. tothmccarry says:

    Good on you, Primal Beanpole. Ideally, we all get to the point where we no longer think about what we eat, we just naturally eat by routine. I wish you a lifetime of healthy living.

  2. Anna P says:

    Nice work guy! You’ve transitioned from “diet” to lifestyle.

  3. […] April, I declared our Paleo Adventure over. It had become our lifestyle now and was less an adventure. However, now I’m thinking that I […]

  4. […] previously stated, my Paleo Adventure is over. The question now is: what to I do going forward? I think claiming the adventure is over was […]

  5. […] and I sorted that all out but I don’t use it enough. I really killed myself when I said that the Paleo Adventure is over. That’s when things went bad.¬†I’d started playing hockey¬†but the summer season is […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 242 other followers

