1 Year of Paleo: What’s next?

As I stated in my last post, I’ve fallen off the wagon a bit. I feel like I can directly attribute this to my lack of posting and updating here. I’m feeling less accountable because I feel like I don’t need to impress upon anyone anymore. The problem is, that’s what keeps me going. I like driving towards a goal for the enjoyment of others. So that is what I’m going to do. Starting today, I’m going to be more accountable for what I eat, I’m going to take on new challenges, perhaps even user submitted challenges. My goal is to be as fit and healthy as I can be by next year. That means: more exercise, better control over what I’m eating, more strict guidelines to follow.

My wife and I have been discussing the ‘one hour cheat’ to satisfy any real cravings. We’d heard about this before, but thought it was pointless. The idea is that once a month, for one hour, you can eat whatever you want. Now, the silliness comes from the idea that you would gorge yourself like a pig in a trough. The reality is that what we’d LIKE to do is use this time to go have a dinner out someplace and not care if there’s a little soy in it or if we have something that may have some grains in it. I’m not planning on going to a buffet and tipping back the fucker into my open mouth.

My revised weight goal is going to be 210lbs. That’s a loss of about 20lbs from my 1 year anniversary on primal. I was doing better when I was accountable to my readership and I need to remain accountable to myself. I need to get a hold of my brain and say “STOP THAT! STOP THINKING IT’S OK TO EAT THAT SHIT! STOP BEING STUPID!” It actually works… and I do actually say that to myself. Sometimes I just need to walk through the kitchen and say to myself over and over “You’re not hungry, your’e not hungry” because I’m not… I just want to eat because I’m in the kitchen.

Other goals are appearance based. I’d like to be flat chested and flat bellied by next year. That means I need to come up with a workout regiment that works with my current schedule. I wake up at 5 to get for work, so early morning workouts aren’t really available. I get home at 530pm, so there’s time there for workouts at the end of the day if I can keep my brain energized to push through it. Even if it’s just a 1 mile run, that’s only 10 minutes or so… and I can do it. I glazed over it in my retrospective, but I finished 2nd overall in a 1 mile trail run in the rain (actually 1.2miles in 11:39)

I’m going to do this. I have it in me, and I know my wife wants it for herself too.

Here’s my starting points for Year 2

JLR_1413

JLR_1412

Starting Weight – 229lbs

Starting Pant size – 36×32

Semi-Naked Truth after the cut

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

JLR_1415

JLR_1414

Tagged , , ,

6 thoughts on “1 Year of Paleo: What’s next?

  1. Margaret says:

    I feel like I am in a VERY similar place. In the last year I lost 100 lbs, yet I have started to be a little more lax…I am not making the progress I would like to make and I am starting to see some bad habits creep back in. I applaud your challenge for yourself! I need to get back on a challenge and a regular blogging/posting habit again to feel accountable. Thanks for posting this and BEST of luck to you! YOU CAN DO THIS!

  2. justal313 says:

    Hey, come do the Tough Mudder with Alex and I on August 10th. (I think we are the Noon heat)

    http://toughmudder.com/events/new-england-2013/

    In fact… you should run some races with us in general, all the cool kids are doing it..

    • Jared says:

      I’m not sure if I’m ready for a ‘Tough Mudder’
      That 1 mile run in the rain on the trail was tough…
      10-12 miles with obstacles? Not sure my system will be ready to do that for some time. HOWEVER, that’s not to say I won’t be ready by next year.
      I’d want to be able to jog a 5k before I consider a tough mudder.

  3. Yes!!! Keep posting to keep yourself — and us! — motivated.

  4. Debi says:

    Jared, I think it’s a great idea to stay accountable to more than yourself! You’ve remotivated me!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 241 other followers

