Life changes and moves forward – These are my goals.

It  occurred to me that I never posted my starting points (I’ve added this to

Starting Weight – 297lbs (5/28/12)
Stomach – 54″
Pant size – 44-46″
Chest – 53″
Total circumference at widest point (around arms at widest part of chest) – 60″

So, I’m 5 foot around. That’s a nice round number to go with my nice round physique.

I figured I should also outline my goals:

  1. I want to be able to get out of the shower, look in the mirror and not go “Yecchhh…”
  2. I want to be able to run for a whole mile.
  3. I want to be able to ride a bike without flattening the tires.
  4. I want to be able to buy clothes at the mall and not from the Fatso catalogs.
  5. I want to be able to keep up with my kid as he gets bigger and faster

I don’t really have a specific weight goal. I’ve been 6’3″ since about 8th grade and at that point I was 225lbs. The last time I saw a weight that started with a 1 was in 5th grade (6’1″). I’m a big dude… I don’t expect to get rail thin nor do I want to. I like being large, but I wish I wasn’t fat.

I’ve been working on losing weight since my kid was born in 2009. I’ve cut out a lot of junk food, soda and other treats semi-successfully. I have had a few bad binges over the years, but I’ve been steady around 295-297 since he was born. My wife and I wanted our son to have all the benefits of eating healthy right from the start so we stopped allowing soda in the house unless it was a big party (eventually even stopping that), we stopped buying garbage and started shopping as much as we could at organic shops, farmer’s markets and ordering meat CSAs. At one point we were on the Schwarzbein Principle which shares some similarity with eating primal. We stuck to it for about a month but fell off for some unknown reason. Some months we were spending $500+ on dining out. It was hurting us both physically and financially. Did I mention I’m part Scottish? I’ve got a cheap streak that astounds most people. I’m a fan of the philosophy that the best way to make money is not to spend it.

Here’s me being stupid.

I’m also mostly Irish… which means I like my beer and my potatoes, which I eat and consume en masse. Even when I was “behaving” I still drank. I was a notorious binge drinker through most of my 20s. I would drink a fifth of 151proof rum at a party mixed with a litre bottle of Diet Dr Pepper sometimes as often as once a week. Eventually I stopped doing it weekly and moved it back to monthly… then quarterly. My constitution waned and it took much less alcohol to get me drunk, but still more than the average person. I wore my constitution as some sort of idiot badge of pride. I was known as Mr 151 for a while. Looking back at those times I know I had fun, but what kind of lasting damage did it cause? The weekend before I started this, I was on a bachelor party.  In a single day I drank close to an entire fifth of straight whiskey and gorged on chips and trail mix. I didn’t feel good about that.

I got my job in Boston in January of 2009 and for the first year or so I drove in to the subway with minimal walking. One day I decided I should start taking the train. I would drive the 1 mile to the train and take that instead… still no walking. Then one nice day I decided to see how long it would take me to walk to the station as it wasn’t good for my car at the time to start and stop so quickly. It took me about 20 minutes and it gave me some energy. I started walking nearly every day since. Now I do it in about 15 minutes. This was a good start for me but not great. I soon started getting fed up with waiting for the Green Line subway to take me to the train that I decided to start walking to a more reliable Orange Line subway about a half mile from my office. Then I started walking the whole way to North Station, about 2 miles away. I found that walking to North Station was great because I got to walk through Boston Common and the Public Gardens and there was a particularly challenging walk up Beacon Hill. I wasn’t always consistent with my walks though. I rarely did them in the morning because I thought I’d be sweaty before work. I’ve done that walk twice this week in the morning and not been a mess so I’ll continue with my walks if time allows (I need to get to the 735 train instead of my regular 750 train to have time to get into the office). So, if I do those 3 walks every day, I do about 5 miles a day, which is a lot for me. I’m focusing now on getting my average speed up to about 4.5mph, but it’s hard to gauge with having to stop for crosswalks. I’m also interested in starting the couch to 5K. I had started it a few weeks ago but a few late nights had me waking up too late to get into the office gym in time to do it. More excuses.

I’m hoping this blog will keep me accountable, which is why I’m hoping people subscribe to it so I have someone to answer to. I need to keep myself truthful as well. Lying about progress or eating only hurts myself. So, please spread the word and help me by pushing me in the right direction. I really do respond well to positive reinforcement.

To end on a positive up-note, my weight today is 289lbs. I’ve lost 8lbs from only 3 days of active participation in the diet and only one solid 5 mile walk day.

10 thoughts on “Life changes and moves forward – These are my goals.

  1. Erin says:

    Sweetheart, you can do this. When all else fails, add bacon.

  2. L Eaton says:

    Congrats on taking your first steps in this direction! I’ve hit the struggle too over the years. One piece of introspection that I came across and continues to help me re-align when I trail off in unhealthier directions: keep a log–but not just a foodlog. Log your food, your activities, your weight, your sleep, and most important–your spending–all of it. It’s very interesting to see the ways in which we spend overlap significantly with the ways in which we consume…also, by keeping such a journal, it makes you more conscious of eating/exercising and better manage how to do it…

    anywho–my 2 cents, glad to see a fellow big guy fighting back 🙂

  3. Liv says:

    I think your blog is going to be great. I thought I was giant in elementary school at 5’3. I can’t imagine 6’1.

    • Jared says:

      When we did out annual school ‘weigh-in’ (which was done as a group… if you can believe that) I stepped off that scale like a prize fighter. 6’1″ 205lbs in 5th grade (but a husky kid). I felt it better to be proud then embarrassed, but at that age showing shame in a group would have been social suicide. So I got off the scale in front of all the other guys waving my arms in victory.

      • Earl Gilbert says:

        6’1, 205 isn’t a bad weight, but in 5th grade? Ouch. Good luck, and don’t get discouraged.

      • Jared says:

        I guess 205 could be my goal weight. I wanna weigh what I did in 5th grade. Who else has that goal? 😉

      • Liv says:

        I’ve been my current height since I was ten, so I would love to weigh what I weighed in the fifth grade. I think what I weighed “post-boobs” is probably a better goal. They only differ by ten pounds, though.

  4. A. Nonymous says:

    Jared, I could share your 5th grade goal. I was 5’6″ and 225 in 5th grade. For a girl, it was a special sort of hell. It freaks me out that that was 100 lbs ago, even though I’m now 5’10 and on my way down from nearly 400. I’d settle for a small goal, like weighing what my driver’s license says for the near future.

    Keep up the good work. It’s all about finding what your body needs to be healthy and then doing that.

  5. […] Read More – Life Changes and Moves Forward […]

Leave a Reply

