Real, honest mistakes by a real, honest idiot.

Everyone is entitled to a few mistakes. Sometimes when you start a new job, you make real simple mistakes and feel like a complete dope. I have made mistakes on this diet and I’m not afraid to admit it. That being said, I’ve made some DUMB mistakes.

Underneath it’s green exterior lies the heart of the enemy.

The first one came on sushi day. I grabbed some edamame thinking “Oooo, peas”. After stripping two pods for their ‘peas’ one dropped out onto my plate. At that point I got a good reminder of what a bean looks like. Not just any bean… a soy bean. So, not only did I break the legume rule, I broke the soy rule. *thwack* I felt like an idiot as I tossed the remaining handful into the bin.

Oh, hey… what’s up? Me? Oh nothing… just being something that’s NOT ON YOUR DIET, YOU IDIOT!

The latest one was a REAL doozy. Today we had Kelly’s Roast Beef. So I made myself a salad, plopped some roast beef and some chicken salad on it, tossed the buns in the bin and then made the biggest, dumbest mistake I’ve made since the edamame gaffe… I grabbed a buffalo chicken wrap. I emptied the wrap into my container looking at the delicious tomatoes, lettuce and chicken… that delicious BREADED AND FRIED CHICKEN… which I ate… and I ate all of it. Luckily it was only about one piece. Now, I went on with my day, oblivious to what I had done. It wasn’t until I got home and told my wife what I had did I realize what I had done. I said “Oh yeah, I had this and that and a buffalo chicken wrap, minus the wrap.” She looked at me quizzically. And then it dawned on me… like a hammer hitting an egg. “OH MY GOD!”

“That was REALLY stupid” she said.

I’m feeling like I’m forgetting one of my other mistakes… but I’m drawing a blank here… if I remember, I’ll put it in the comments.

So, what mistakes have you made? And not cheats… real, honest mistakes.

Monday weigh in: 282lbs (-15lbs / ~1 stone) I like the idea of stone weight… it’s very primal.

TUESDAY weigh in: 285lbs… guess that mistake cost me a bit.

4 thoughts on “Real, honest mistakes by a real, honest idiot.

  1. Erin says:

    I don’t feel the need to be quoted here, thank you very much.

  2. Wasabi Peas. They apparently have some kind of gluten in the coating. I was very upset, but it made me kick out all dried veggies, so it was probably for the better.

  3. Cindy says:

    Back in the early days of my “transition”…without even thinking, I accepted a beer that was offered to me at a Block Party (it wasn’t food right?)….then had a few more. I paid for it for days…haven’t done it since – occasionally red wine now – much better choice!

  4. A. Nonymous says:

    I can’t help. I cheat to much to ever say I made an honest mistake 😉

Leave a Reply

