Loose clothes OR Keeping up appearances.

It’s better than the alternative, I guess.

Losing weight is a wonderful thing… most of the time. I’m down 25lbs since starting this, but I’m also down about 40 since last clothes shopping. This leads to events like the past weekend, in which I had to wear my suit to a wedding… a suit for a 325lbs man. Now, I’ve never been a 54″ waist, but the tailor insisted that I wear a 54″ trouser. It didn’t fit when I was 325… it REALLY doesn’t fit when I’m 275. My jacket is a 54″ chest. I’ve always had a big chest and now the suit fits a bit loose, mostly in the shoulders. So, with about 10″ of waistline to hide, I buckled my belt up (on the 3rd notch now!) and scrunched the extra round the back. Apparently, my friends noticed it and dubbed me J-lo butt for the day.

This isn’t the first time someone’s mentioned my clothes fitting loose. Even the guys at work are noticing that my shirts are noticeably baggier and my pants require a bit more cinching. Going without a belt is not an option right now. My strap belt is nearly going around the back of me now. When I was younger, I used to wear my strap belt through the first loop and I’d leave the excess loose along my leg. It was sort of a ‘gut gauge’ for me. At my thinnest, it hung to my knee. At my fattest it was above my thigh.

My shirts are mostly 3XL. My pants are mostly 46″. My shoes are all 11.5s. Most of these are too big (yes, even my shoes…) but the problem is do I invest in clothes that I’ll be grown out of soon or do I make due with what I’ve got? I recently purchased some new pants that are already too big and some shirts, but I need more. I need to start tossing my baggy stuff and going from there. I’m thinking of taking all my ‘too big’ shirts and counting them out and replacing them 2:1). Luckily I do have some older clothes that I kept as ‘goal clothes’ that not only fit but are going to be too big reasonably soon. The other problem is suits. I have TWO more weddings this year. I broke out my old blue suit jacket which hasn’t fit in years and to my surprise, it fits now. Hopefully it’s the right shade of navy blue for the wedding I’m going to be in soon. I also noticed that my ties tied with a school boy knot (Four in Hand) that it hangs properly without having to give myself a yard of extra material.

I do think a suit rental is in order though for the next wedding and I’ll need to buy some nice khakis and a nice shirt for the last wedding. At this point, I just need to get through the summer. Which means I’ll need ONE more bathing suit because the one I have now is going to be a problem… it’s nearly come off a FEW times… and I’m not ready to show off that much skin yet.

Slightly less fat guy in a GIANT coat. Slightly less fat guy in a GIANT coat. Slightly less fat guy in a GIANT cooooooooat.

Tagged , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Loose clothes OR Keeping up appearances.

  1. That is fantastic! You look great but that suit is saggy butt for sure. My husband went through this same problem. Suit rentals are a great start for fancy events but other places like TJMax, Marshals and Clearance racks have been a life saver. He did the saggy pants and shirt thing for while but it got a little ridiculous when we had to dress up nicely or go to work. I wouldn’t go out and buy a new wardrobe but I’d at least get 2 of each item (shirts, pants, tshirts) Khol’s has inexpensive suits that look sharp too! just in case. We’ve also gotten some clothes in smaller sizes if it was a really good deal at that time. Keep up the good work!

  2. Hazel says:

    Try seeing if a tailor could make some inexpensive adjustments to get you through the summer.

  3. Deb says:

    The local Goodwill (and other thrift stores) got me through me weight loss between-times pretty well. Larger sizes are hit or miss, but on a good day you can get very lucky for not a lot of money. 🙂 Congrats on the weight loss!

  4. A. Nonymous says:

    Congratulations! Check with a tailor about taking in the suit. It might need too much work to be cost effective, but you never know. With the shoes, be sure you have your feet remeasured. You might need a different width but not a different length. Or be like my DH, who thought for years he was a 9.5 D, and after weight loss he is a 10.5 B.

  5. Karen says:

    It’s great to see you’re making such progress!

  6. Sara says:

    Keep up the great work!! Don’t have any advice about the clothes. I had all of my college clothes in the guest room closet (where they hung for 4 years)… I did the happy dance when some began to fit again. Just a few more months & they’ll all fit (that’s the goal anyway). Anyway just wanted to say that you grok & keep up the good work!

  7. […] too. My clothes were already fitting looser and my ‘summer of weddings’ was upon me. My first wedding was a ‘fat guy in a GIANT coat’ debacle. But it was working, by mid July of last year, with only 6 weeks or so into it, I was 55lbs down […]

Leave a Reply

