268! wait, 274? no, 271? OR How I wish I could throw this !@#$ing scale out the window

I may have discussed the Wildly Inaccurate Scale (heretofore referred as the WIS). The WIS has a tendency to be WILDLY inaccurate (hence the name) depending on the placement on my bathroom floor. Two inches to the right and it’s +10, 3, to the left and it’s -5. I’ve found a spot where I tend to put it where it maintains reasonable consistency. However, the other day I must have been off by a millimeter and the above titled sequence occurred.

I hate this scale, but because I need to maintain a control, I really don’t have any other choice. I’m able to get reproducible results once I get it in the right place. What do you use for a scale and how accurate is it? My current scale is a BORG digital scale. The other problem I have with it is that I can’t figure out how to change the ‘weight goal’ thing

Coming this week: A weekend of looking and feeling good AND Cheating at a wedding (with food…)

Monday Weigh in – 267lbs

4 thoughts on “268! wait, 274? no, 271? OR How I wish I could throw this !@#$ing scale out the window

  1. Deb says:

    Our scale lives in the dining room, actually, as none of our bathrooms are large enough to contain it and still leave us a place to wash out hands. LOL We also find a variation from floorboard to floorboard and if we don’t believe the number we see, we’ll move it around and sort of split the difference. I’m trying my best to not get too wrapped up in actual numbers for my journey, but for our purposes accuracy isn’t a big deal as we’re OK with using it more as a casual “let’s see how the kids are growing” kind of thing.

    I’ll be curious to see what others recommend, though.

  2. Sandra says:

    I think you should ditch the scale. It is a minor tool in the process and you are giving it too much power. You’re letting an inaccurate tool and some arbitrary numbers have too much control over your mood and stress levels.

  3. Erin says:

    I think numbers and the change is interesting. Who wants to read a blog about a fat guy who says things like “I think I have lost more weight, don’t know how much.”? I think for the purposes of a blog it’s much better for readers to see the journey in numbers, sorry.

  4. James Dunham says:

    i think that having a scale is important. it is needed to track changes. but you cannot let it rule your life. regardless of inaccuracies, if you are losing weight, you will still notice a trend. trying to lose weight without a scale is really like working out without tracking your weights, reps, times… or trying to ‘diet’ without keeping any track of food volume.

    aka.

    it MIGHT work. but its not likely the best way to achieve results.

    additionally. maybe your scale is crap. buy another one. just restart your ‘control’ from that date forward. the end goal is to lose weight and be healthier, not to lose specifically XYZ lbs according to the WIS.

Leave a Reply

