The Doctor Prescribed Goal

Today I went to see my doctor and weighed in at 270lbs (clothed) and had my blood pressure checked. The good news is that he doesn’t want me on MORE meds and wants me to continue on my path of weight loss. It was at that point he asked for my weight history as I had only begun seeing him recently and the highest weight he had on me was 287. I explained the 325, 315 and 225 times and explained what I was doing to be at 225. He pulled out a calculator to come up with a reasonable goal weight and came up with this number:

247

He said that at that point we could identify if my goal of 225 was approachable. He thinks it definitely is but will probably require a bit more effort. He agreed that 205 would be a pipe dream that would probably require significant loss of muscle… I guess we’ll see when I get to 225.

So 247lbs is another 20lbs down and I go back to the doctor in 3 months. So, the goal now is to drop 20 more pounds in 3 months. I think this is more than attainable but I may need to step up my activity levels. I also start a Whole 30 dietary exercise starting next Wednesday with my wife. I hope that cuts even more weight in 30 days. It worked well for my wife as she did it in June.

8 thoughts on “The Doctor Prescribed Goal

  1. Erin says:

    I’d be curious to know what the doctor’s formula was to get to that number, just to see how it would come out for me.

  2. James Dunham says:

    i too would be curious to know how the doc thinks you can only hit 225… and 205 would be impossible.

    once upon a time a trainer who wanted my money ran some numbers and spit out that @ 280, i had @173 lbs of lean mass. seems to me if i was to lose 100 lbs, my lean mass would drop as well yes, but i would likely be much stronger at 180 (with say 150 lbs of lean mass) then i currently am at 280.

    • Jared says:

      Well, as I stated in an earlier post, I was 205 when I was in 5th grade and only 6′ tall. I’m 6’3″ now and I doubt hitting a weight that I was at in 5th grade would be doable.

  3. James Dunham says:

    FYI…
    real people height/weight of 6’3″ around 200-210.
    http://cockeyed.com/photos/bodies/603-200.html
    http://cockeyed.com/photos/bodies/603-210.html

    pretty average looking to me.
    maybe he doesn’t think you can get here based on bone structure size?

    • Jared says:

      Well, I’m particularly dense apparently… I MIGHT be able to strip down to 205 if I try really hard, but I think 225 would be a safe and comfortable and healthy weight.

      Right now, first goal is 247 in 3 months. Once there, the goal will be 225 in another 6 months. I would like to see where I’m at and how I feel at 225 before making any further goals.

      I’m a pretty think dude even under all the fat. It’d be great to get to 205 and be healthy and lean

  4. I think you set some awesome goals for yourself by staying realistic and listening to your body! Keep up the good work! The Whole 30 is awesome and it will teach you a lot. 🙂

  5. […] from my worst weight and 30lbs down since starting. My goal weight at the time was a lofty 205, my doctor stepped in and said I should be at 247. Little did he know that I would blow by that in short order, and then… a Whole30 for August. […]

Leave a Reply

