The greatest mistake I’ve made OR Whole 30: Take 2.

My wife and I.

A challenge was laid early into my Whole30: I was the best man at my best friend’s wedding. This isn’t just any best friend, this is a lifelong friend of the most accurate description. We met mere weeks after I was born in July of 1981. He truly is like a brother (my actual brother not withstanding) as he has always been around to stick up for me, travel with my family on vacations and practically live at my house when he wasn’t sleeping at his own. The challenge was twofold: stick to the plan on both the rehearsal dinner (Day 2) and the wedding (Day 4).

The rehearsal dinner went great. We stuck to the plan, bothered our waitress with our dietary restrictions and generally felt like “those people”… I made a rather epic speech and all was well. The wedding, on the other hand…

Earlier in the day my wife and I agreed that this is the last wedding we need to go to in our group of friends and this being my best friend, we would enjoy ourselves and drink. However, we agreed that we would stick to the plan when it came to food. We also agreed that we would restart Whole30 on Sunday at Day 1. It was the greatest ‘mistake’ we could have made. We had a wonderful time. Shenanigans were had, dances were danced, cigars were smoked and libations were downed. The final tally for myself was somewhere around 6 beers, 2 vodka cocktails (watered down), a small glass of champagne and a small glass of wine.

In the end, my wife and I accepted our choices and enjoyed them to the fullest. We have no regrets and despite any potential hit to our waistline or health, we felt wonderful. Throughout the night people were commenting on how much weight we’ve lost and how great we looked and we knew that this was simply a one time thing.

This is a pretty good indication of where we were at…

We’re lucky that this wedding was only on Day 4 and not Day 10 or 20… Restarting on Sunday was no problem at all. I felt a lot better that we didn’t EAT anything bad for us…

At least as far as I can remember.

Tagged , , , , , ,

One thought on “The greatest mistake I’ve made OR Whole 30: Take 2.

  1. […] then… a Whole30 for August. No weight charting, uber strict paleo… no cheating… except that we did cheat and it was TOTALLY WORTH IT… and then we tried it again and it really worked. I noticed that my appearance was getting […]

Leave a Reply

