Energy sapping

I think I need to up my activity levels. Lately I’ve been WRECKED. I don’t want to blame the Whole30, but it did coincide. What I am potentially blaming is my blood pressure. As I’ve mentioned in the past, I suffer from hypertension and I take some meds to keep it in check. What I’ve been dealing with lately is more of a ‘low blood pressure’ issue. I stand up and go dim. Every time it happens, it sucks the life out of me. I’m on the smallest dosage of the lightest blood pressure medication they make, so for the week I’ve decided to go off my meds and see if it helps with my energy. This is something I’ve dealt with in the past and it doomed me to a life of lethargy and overeating. My other meds dropped my BP and caused me to be real tired all the time. Once I got off them, I’d get some energy back but I’d normally be up 10-30lbs…

Mine’s probably the one on the right…

So, now I’m going to go back to monitoring my blood pressure and see how my energy is affected by not having my meds. While I don’t think my BP is ‘LOW’ I think it’s ‘normal’ and my body is used to 15 years of hypertension. I’m really hoping I’m reversing the damage I’ve done to my heart over the years.

In other news, I made that Chili. Holy god, that’s some good chili. I made a 2lbs of meat batch and it was simply not enough. Between the amount I brought to work, the amount I ate for dinner last night and the amount my wife ate, it is GONE. I highly recommend it. Cooking is not my forte though and I didn’t screw it up too badly. I do get a bit frantic and I need to remember to measure everything out and have it ready to go. I’m half tempted to have my wife video me making a meal… it’s probably reasonably funny to watch my dumb ass skittering around our tiny kitchen freaking out about what to do next.

Tagged , , ,

5 thoughts on “Energy sapping

  1. Glad you liked the chili — thanks for the link back! Sorry to hear about your hypertension, etc. I have thyroid issues, and I can totally relate to the feelings of frustration when your body just won’t do everything you want it to. Hang in there!

  2. Erin says:

    http://whole9life.com/2012/06/the-whole30-timeline/ Have you read this? What’s happening to you is normal in the Whole 30 and soon it will be Tiger Blood time and you’ll feel great!

  3. Erin says:

    Also, I would LOVE to make a video of you cooking. It would be awesome/hilarious.

  4. Erin says:

    Sorry, last comment. You should consider asking about this on the Whole 30 fb wall with a link. They might have some information that could help or at least be encouraging.

  5. Deb says:

    I was having migraines and BP spikes up until I went truly Paleo. Doc had me on beta blockers and I lasted almost a week before I decided I was too comatose, even on half the lowest available dosage, to parent my kids, let alone hold down a job. Once I changed the diet, the migraines and BP spikes – both vascular events – went away, AND I was able to drop my thyroid meds. I don’t know whether losing the grains/gluten was the key or getting off the thyroid was at the root of the disappearing migraines, but that might be an angle worth investigating.

    On another note, I am totally going to try that chili recipe!

Leave a Reply

