Being sick and giving up.

Last Monday I developed a cough. This cough became worse and worse over the week until I finally broke down and went against the plan… just to take some medicine to get some much needed sleep. It was unfortunate, but needed to be done and did actually work.

On Tuesday, I learned that nearly all cough syrup has high fructose corn syrup (HFCS) in it. So, I made it my point not to take them. Of course, had I known it was going to develop into what it became, I might have tried combating it with something more potent. I stuck mainly with pills. Aleve-D did a good job for the most part, but my cough was still pretty bad. It kept me (and my wife) up at night for a solid week. I tried everything. I bought a bunch of different things to try which worked in various ways but last night it came to a head. I developed a nasty canker on the roof of my mouth and my cough was turning into something I couldn’t contain. So I broke down and grabbed the Tussin and downed a dose. A few minutes later, my coughing fits died down and I slept.

I called in sick on Monday so I can get to see my doctor and make sure it’s not turning into bronchitis (which I tend to get) or a smoldering sinus infection (which I’ve also had recently). While I was lucky not to have bronchitis, my sinus infection has returned again. On the bright side, my blood pressure at the doc’s office was 116/74 so I’m now officially off my HBP pill. On another bright side is my weight loss is ahead of the game. While I’m not supposed to weigh myself on the Whole30, my doctor needed to do it for his records and I’m happy to say that I’m down another 11lbs to 254lbs.

Luckily, Whole30 doesn’t rate cough syrup as a ‘reset’ point, so that’s good. I’m on another round of antibiotics and I purchased some sugar free tussin. Back to work today.

Tagged , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Being sick and giving up.

  1. Kellie McMaster says:

    Way to go Jared!!!! I’m sorry you have been sick, but you have managed to get through it and are doing great! Inspirational. Keep up the great work!

  2. A. Nonymous says:

    I’m glad you went. Sinus infection can really take it out of you. MucinexDM (use the generic equivalent–it’s just as good) is the same as Tussin in pill form. Works good, no sugar or HFCS, and comes in 12-hr time release tablets. HTH.

    • Jared says:

      That MucinexDM Maximum stuff is expensive. like $1 a pill.
      I got the regular strength stuff and it didn’t seem to put a dent in it. The Aleve D seems to be the best for me.

  3. Debi says:

    Sorry you got sick, but GREAT JOB on the next 11 lbs!! Whoo hoooooo!!!! I’m back stateside for a few weeks and am glad to say that by-and-large, everyone is being very helpful and understanding with my dietary restrictions. Then again, change a person with a 25% weight reduction and people notice… even in my military uniform (which is VERY unflattering to the female figure!! ha ha!!). So, it seems that when I was at 20 lbs off, people seemed ready to sabotage me and my weight loss, up that to 42 lbs and people become more motivated to keep me honest and become more ‘honest’ themselves around me. I guess that’s the difference between being ‘fat’ and starting to lose weight and now being ‘average’ and still wanting to lose weight/shape up. Not sure why that changed everyone’s minds on how to deal with me, but perhaps finding out I’m severely gluten intolerant is the big changer for everyone else. (she’s eating that way to stay ‘well’ instead of just ‘to lose weight’)… rambling… GREAT JOB!!!

Leave a Reply

