Conquering the Whole30 and the first day cheat

The Whole30 is done. I lost 13lbs on it and I felt pretty good about the whole thing. It was a little stressful to be so disciplined about EVERY thing I ate, but I’m pretty sure I did it to the letter. They advise that you slowly introduce some of the foods back to see how you handle them. I think the phrase SLOW might have needed more clarification… well, probably not. I’ll explain.

This is what it FELT like I ate… also what it felt like I paid for, mind you.

So yesterday marked the end of our 3 day, 2 night Primal Camping trip experiment (which I’ll discuss next time). My son was rather well behaved and so I promised to take him out for ice cream to celebrate the end of summer. So, off to the local OrangeLeaf Frozen Yogurt store. If you’ve never been to an OrangeLeaf let me explain what they do here. First, they take about 18 different kinds of frozen yogurt and stick them in their machine in a wall for self dispensing (this is the first mistake). Second, they give you two sizes: large and tub (this is their second mistake). Third, let you mix and match and then put your own toppings on. Finally, you take your 15lb tub of deliciousness over to a scale and they weigh it and charge you per ounce (and this is the business model that keeps them afloat). Of course, human hands aren’t precision instruments and I don’t exactly know where the price per ounce is POSTED in the store… so it’s kind of a crapshoot when you get to the counter as you can’t really put frozen yogurt back into the machine from whence it came.

So I went with my kid and decided that we’ll just share one bowl. I explain all the flavors and some are put in the same machine so you can mix them. He (meaning, we… meaning mostly I) decides on some Strawberry, Vanilla Chocolate Swirl, Cookies and Cream and Banana. It’s a pretty big bowl so you can put them in their own areas side by side instead of piling it on. So I ask if he wants any toppings and he initially says no, but I convince him to put some fruit on it… you know, to make it healthier. As a final straw, I ask if he wants any jimmies or sprinkles… to which he obviously says yes. I apply a small spoonful so not to look a glutton. I pass on the fudge and butterscotch and peanut butter and head over to the scale where I am shown my destiny of failure. $12 exchange hands and my son and I sit down to enjoy our bowl of debauchery. 10 minutes later and the two of us are scraping the bowl down to liquid. I figure he’s probably going to barf from so much FroYo (he doesn’t… he takes it like a pro) and I’m satiated.

Now, they say after ingesting something unfamiliar, you need to see how you feel afterwards. At first I feel fine. I’m actually surprised. I figured I’d have blown up or something after eating like that. Though a few minutes pass and I notice that my throat is starting to feel sore as if my glands are swelling.  It doesn’t go beyond that, but it has maintained that feeling since yesterday. It’s uncomfortable, but not drastic. I’m fine without dairy and this was simply a treat. I do think that I will try to avoid dairy as much as possible without driving myself mental. One of the most difficult things was having salad at work that was either covered in cheese or covered in croutons. I was trying to stick to the plan so much that if one grain of either touched the salad, I wouldn’t eat it. Going forward I’ll be fine just shaking the bits off and not freaking out if I ingest a tiny bit.

In the end, I think I need to re-learn the Primal/Paleo tenets because I’ve mentally mixed the Primal with the Whole30 and now I can’t remember what’s on and what’s off (beyond the obvious). I’ll continue to err on the side of caution and I might continue to bring my own backup lunches to work. I’m two pounds from the magic 50lb loss. I’m still amazed where one summer got me.

Daily Weigh In – 252lbs (-48lbs since start, -73lbs since heaviest)

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Conquering the Whole30 and the first day cheat

  1. wartica says:

    I agree ; a little cheat meal here and there helps keep you sane 😉

  2. HollyG says:

    Half the time it makes me happy, the other half I blow-up and feel sick.. both beneficial in their own way 😛 Either way, congrats on getting to the 50lb goal!

  3. […] The Whole30 ended in a great success. I was nearing 50lbs lost since starting my adventure and almost 75lbs since my worst. I really started to feel it. That 50lb mark came shortly after. I was feeling fantastic, but I was still up over 40″ around my waist. I had bought some “Challenge pants” to push me. To help push me, my wife and I embarked on a Whole52 starting in October and ending at Thanksgiving. We figured we needed to prep our bodies for the onslaught of holiday feeding. 240lbs came shortly after… I was back to my high school weight… and I still had some clothes from High School to demonstrate. We did end up surviving Thanksgiving. By December, I had started posting less on here and moved primarily to facebook for my more ‘microupdates’. I left the blog for big posts like my FIRST 5K! It felt great to be able to complete this, even though I didn’t run it to it’s entirety. […]

Leave a Reply

