Being Scottish for the weekend

Yeah, totally doing that.

This weekend I’ll be attending the Annual Highland Games at Loon Mountain in NH. I’ve decided that while I’m at the festival, I shall enjoy the share of my culture that may not be entirely paleo/primal. I’m not planning on going overboard, but I do want to enjoy honest Scottish food in a festive atmosphere because it’s not something I will get to do for at least another year. It should be a lot of fun. Hopefully I won’t pay for it too badly when I step on the scale on Monday.

My wife is diligently planning so we can eat on plan when not at the festival and so we can have snacks that we can eat… and planning our packing list and other things… well, EVERY things.

Who knows… maybe next year I’ll see about competing. I’ll also have lost enough weight to invest in my kilt.

Ne Obliviscaris. Forget Not – Clan Campbell

Tagged , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Being Scottish for the weekend

  1. deb says:

    Eat Scotch eggs! Super-Paleo, if they’re fried up in the right oil, anyway. Have a great time!

    • Jared says:

      We did. Are they not fried with some kind of crumb crust though? Of course the helping of potatoes and gravy were probably not paleo.

      • deb says:

        I’ve seen them mostly with but sometimes without the crumb stuff; kind of depends on how they keep the ground meat part together, I guess.

        Then again, we make our own here so we get to be fussy about what’s in them. *grin*

  2. Erin says:

    I have to confess all the planning I said I’d do has not happened. I hope you like packing quickly right before you leave.

  3. […] forward to 247lbs and I’m getting ready to go to the Highland Festival as mentioned in my last post. My wife suggests I try them on and see how they fit. I figure that I’ve only lost 3lbs and […]

Leave a Reply

