The High School Weight Conundrum

So, I’m down to 242lbs. This was a weight I was at in High School. The unfortunate bit about that is that: I was fat in high school.

Looking in the mirror shows one major thing: while I’ve lost a TON of weight (nearly 60lbs since June and over 80 since my worst) I’m still pretty fat. My goal weight of 225lbs looks totally achievable now (and soon) but the problem is: I don’t think that’s enough. I’m still be-tittled… my gut is still there.

It’s all “Better” but it’s not “Great”. There’s a lot more work to be done. Specifically: exercise.

Tagged

8 thoughts on “The High School Weight Conundrum

  1. L Eaton says:

    It’s not quite a conundrum. It’s progress. And “great” is something that takes time…nothing “great” is achieved briefly. Overcoming a life of weight issues is best tackled in stages.

    I’d think more about getting to your goal weight, finding stability (that is, it’s not enough to meet the weight but to hold it fairly effortlessly for a sustained while). You need to allow your body to “catch up” as it is, because it has been completely transformed in a very short period of time (consider that you’ve lost about 1/4 your body weight in less than 1/2 year; that’s a substantive change that you are likely going to need to get more familiar with; everything from your balance to your metabolism to even your thinking is likely to have been effected in some way.

    • Jared says:

      The drastic loss of weight is actually one of my reasons for avoiding heavy exercise and focusing on just being more mobile. I was more afraid of losing weight so quickly that it shocked my system. Even 60lbs in 4 months is SIGNIFICANT and could be considered dangerous by some. My doctor wanted me to 247 by the end of October. If this keeps up, I’ll be 237 by the time I see him.

      • L Eaton says:

        Glad to hear you’re keeping that in mind. That only reinforces the fact that what you’re facing is not a “conundrum”–but just meeting your first goal; feeling accomplished, and deciding what’s the next mountain to climb (maybe literally–hahaha) might be 🙂

      • Jared says:

        The conundrum comes from thinking the thought “I wish I weighed what I weighed in high school” doesn’t quite work when you were a fat piece of shit in high school too 🙂

  2. New John says:

    Congrats on the achievement, Jared. Keep up the good work.

    I’ve spent a lot of time trying to re-figure my goals, as well. I’ve hit my goal weight, but I’m still unhappy with my body composition: I need to adjust my body fat / lean mass proportions.

    That and I need to get stronger and increase my work capacity. All in good time.

    But I think our shared approach makes sense: focus on dropping weight *first* and then on reapportioning fat v. muscle. In my experience, trying to do both at the same time just leads to frustration.

    Then again, YMMV.

    Work smart and work strong,

    New John

  3. James Dunham says:

    sounds like you are doing great!
    keep it up.

    even once you reach 225, you were once much heavier therefore you ARE going to have extra skin, and you will still have some flab under the surface. try not to get discouraged about that. it will take time for the skin and flab to tighten up. but eventually you will get to where you really do want/need to exercise to get all the fat stores burnt out and to get some bigger muscles put in place.

    -diet (which you are totally destroying)
    -walking (which you seem to be getting in)
    -lift weights, hard and a couple times a week (this will be the step that knocks those moobs out)

  4. Kathi says:

    You’ve really come a long way. You’re eating better. You’ve come up with solutions to eating at work. You are finding ways to enjoy yourself with your family that don’t revolve around eating or drinking to excess. Of course we all wish we hadn’t strayed so far off course in our earlier years that we’d have to work so hard to reverse it now. But buck up, Buttercup. I’m almost 60 and there’s no amount of surgery that’s gonna put my stuff back in place. And no amount of self-pity that can change your past. Leave it in the past and don’t let it derail your future. Find some inspirational folks like Stacy Toth to give you some perspective. You can do this. You’ll be a powerful role model for your son, even if there’s some saggy skin.

Leave a Reply

