My wife – Master of the Plan

Mumma’s first 5K

This whole thing was my wife’s idea. In the past, our attempts to lose weight have been driven by her. We’ve tried a LOT of things with some success and a lot of things with no success. I’m very lucky that this time my wife not only found something we both agreed on, but has worked hard to keep us on it with her amazing cooking.

Her latest push to lose weight started earlier this year. She had a painful lump on her side that she could feel herself, but her doctor’s couldn’t determine what it was. She went to a bunch of scans and tests and they found nothing. Eventually, one of the doctor’s told her that she needs to lose 40lbs RIGHT NOW so they can get a clearer image of what it could be. Distraught over the thought of losing so much weight, so quickly I offered her a deal. If she could lose 40lbs and keep it off for at least a week, I’d pay for us to go to Disney World. She started off by working out and seeing a professional trainer. This helped a bit. Then at the end of May she started looking into Paleo/Primal eating. She settled on the Primal Blueprint by Mark Sisson. We started with the 21 Day Total Body Transformation. We agreed to avoid the supplements and focus mainly on the proper eating and exercise. She really stuck to the exercises (and the food) in there while I stuck mainly to the eating.

She started purchasing cookbooks to help us. Most importantly, she bought Eat Like a Dinosaur which taught us that not only could we eat right, but we could also enjoy things that we LIKED to eat already. Erin planned every meal, every shopping list and executed them to near-perfection right from the start. It was a lot of work but she made it look easy. The food has been fantastic and thanks to the internet (I highly recommend thefoodee.com) she has a constant source of new recipes to try. We’ve never eaten so well AND with such variety in our entire life. She’s done 3 Whole30s (I participated in her August one). Her most current Whole30 is actually a 52 day that she’s currently involved in.

All this time she was still doing a consistent exercise regiment. She began training to run a 5K, which she successfully completed two weeks ago. You can read about her training here – Run Mumma Run. Now, she’s got me running (again). We’ll be running our first couples 5K in a few weeks. It should be interesting.

So with that, I truly have to thank my wife for making this all possible. If it wasn’t for her, I’d still be 300lbs and miserable. We’ll find out if she reaches her 40lb goal weight on Thanksgiving morning.

3 thoughts on “My wife – Master of the Plan

  1. Erin says:

    Awww, shucks. I love you.

  2. darrymadden says:

    I’m so inspired by you guys!

  3. […] I’ve mentioned my wife in a previous post, specifically her ability to look ahead and plan meals when we’re going out. Thanksgiving is sort of the SuperBowl of Paleo Planning. Luckily for me, my wife was on top of it. This year we were going to her sister’s husband’s parent’s house for Thanksgiving. Her sister is gluten intolerant, so she handed out things for each person to make. My wife bore the brunt of making things that we could eat which included sweet potatoes, rolls, mashed cauliflower and pumpkin pie. […]

Leave a Reply

