The long-con.

235 and in a shirt I bought in 1999 that NEVER fit.

I’m feeling pretty good about myself lately. I’ve settled into a solid 235ish pounds and I look a feel a million times better than I did in June. However it’s a bit of a double-edged sword. It’s now come to a head where in order for me to lose more weight I need to shift into high gear and start working out and becoming more strict… however I feel like I’m falling into worse habits and actually maintaining 235lbs. So the problem now is that I feel like I’m convincing myself that 235 is fine… but in reality there’s still a LOT of fat left in my gut that I’d like to get rid of… like a gunny sack of fat.

I blame this on a few things. I’m getting settled into my new diet and I’ve accepted what I can and cannot do. I’m seeing that even while sticking to a strictly regimented program (like Whole30) has it’s benefits in my health, the stress it was causing me wasn’t worth the few extra pounds. I think I could do it again, but I’d have to really prepare for it better. Primal is great, but there are pitfalls in eating dairy… like nearly choking on a piece of cheese yesterday. That was embarrassing. Then there’s the other niggling issues like the dreaded BUTTHURT. I’m still finding it difficult to inject myself with a proper amount of fibre to soak up all the protein. I’m still too meat focused when it comes to meal time. I think I need to start following the rule of hand when it comes to meat: don’t eat more than you can hold in one hand… I either made that up or I’m confusing it with something else. I know there’s something about meat tenderness being equivalent to bits of your hand. The other problem I’m having is that the seasons are changing and I’m lightly affected by the lack of light and the temperature change I’ve always tended to go into a more hibernation mode around this time. The opposite needs to happen. I need to get out there and work out… but I have no idea how people run when it’s this effing cold out… I better get started because I’ve got a 5K in like 3 weeks.

I’m having a hard time finding time to blog and I’m wondering if that has anything to do with my general malaise with the diet. I’ve not plateaued, because I’m not doing everything I COULD be doing. I’m settled into what could LATER be considered a ‘maintenance’ mode of eating, but I need more than that right now.

Please be sure to follow the facebook page. I tend to update that a bit more frequently for the short stuff.

 

One thought on “The long-con.

  1. Lauren says:

    You can get a lot of fiber if you just eat your broccoli and celery, for example, or even, fruit if you want. An added benefit from this is that you will get more nutrients from the vegetables than you would from a grain source.

Leave a Reply

