Surviving Thanksgiving

I’ve mentioned my wife in a previous post, specifically her ability to look ahead and plan meals when we’re going out. Thanksgiving is sort of the SuperBowl of Paleo Planning. Luckily for me, my wife was on top of it. This year we were going to her sister’s husband’s parent’s house for Thanksgiving. Her sister is gluten intolerant, so she handed out things for each person to make. My wife bore the brunt of making things that we could eat which included sweet potatoes, rolls, mashed cauliflower and pumpkin pie.

Yeah… except I’m 31.

Of course she also had to do this while preparing for a housewarming party for our friends in which she made pulled pork, guacamole and bacon wrapped dates (I actually made these and I didn’t screw it up!) and a paleo dinner with friends where she made an apple crisp. So, it was wise to more or less stay out of my wife’s way and take care of the kid so that we could eat well for Thanksgiving.

Boy, did she deliver. The other people in the family had some traditional (read: not paleo) things, but we supplied ample food for ourselves to go with the turkeys provided. The clincher was the Pie. I LOVE Pumpkin Pie. I could give the entire holiday away for Pumpkin Pie… yes, I’m capitalizing it, it’s that important. It was DELIGHTFUL. I’ll have to double check which recipe we used, but it was PERFECT. It was even better the next three days.

As an experiment I weighed myself on Thursday morning before eating and I was 234lbs, when I got home… 240lbs. Holy crap. By the morning I was back down to 234lbs. Today, I’m down to 231lbs… *phew*

My wife and I are doing another ‘diet’ using the Practical Paleo book. I’ll have more on that later, but quick tip. If you’re starting a Paleo lifestyle, I would avoid this book at the START. The sticker shock of your first grocery trip might kill you. I’ve been doing this since June and I had to put it on credit it was so god damned expensive and I already had MOST of the staples… this was just the ‘food for the week’!

Image used WITHOUT permission from TheOatmeal. Please visit his site so he doesn’t sue me

http://theoatmeal.com/comics/thanksgiving

Tagged , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Surviving Thanksgiving

  1. paleoinpdx says:

    I dig the comic too!

  2. Debi says:

    dying for that pumpkin pie recipe!! 🙂 Congrats at not only surviving your first Paleo Thanksgiving, but for being so proactive!!

  3. […] school weight… and I still had some clothes from High School to demonstrate. We did end up surviving Thanksgiving. By December, I had started posting less on here and moved primarily to facebook for my more […]

Leave a Reply

