Being More Funner as a Challenge.

Lately I’ve been trying to be more mindful and to have more fun with my family and more fun in general. I recently picked up the mantra of “More Funner” from a hat I bought.  The problem is that sometimes that puts me at odds with healthy eating choices. I’m lucky enough to live in a city that has a diverse food situation and wonderful cooks. This leads to things like giant parties that involve foods that are fantastic but not always on my diet. At that point, I’m left with a challenge:

  1. Do I enjoy the food offered as it sits and make up for it later
    1. And how do you ‘make up for it later’?
  2. Do I enjoy the foods I can eat and leave the ones I can’t every time?
    1. and if there are no foods there that I can eat, do I simply avoid all options or do I go back to the top there and ‘make up for it later’?
  3. Do I avoid the temptations entirely and miss out on a fun day with friends by simply not going.

Ideally, I’d like to start with option 2, then revert to option 1 if I need to. I really don’t want to become a hermit and miss out on some REALLY fun things. Case in point, I went to a Goat and Pig Roast Block Party on Saturday with my wife. You can see photos HERE from the wonderful John Andrews at Creative SalemThe event was run by our local Back Alley Bacon speakeasy (yes, we have one of those…), Bambolina, and Notch Brewing. This was a perfect opportunity for Option 2, however I opted for Option 1. I had a few beers from Notch with my wife, I had some baked beans and some mac & cheese with my pork and goat and I indulged in the wine ice luge a few times. I also ate a fun size candy bar that I helped knock out of a pig pinata.

12496334_1187986054546643_1180363343864386376_o

The wine was technically paleo… © Creative Salem

So today, I’m thinking, how do I make up for that? I’ve decided, for this one instance I’m going to fast today. At least until dinner. Then I’ll have my dinner and start working out again starting tomorrow morning. I’d like to have my ‘make up for that’ scenario worked out a little more though.

Here’s the thing: I have no regrets from the fun I had on Saturday. It was great. My wife and I had a blast and the food was awesome and we got to hang out with friends in a situation that may only come up once a year. I ate right the day after (save for a gluten free bun with my hamburger) and felt more-or-less OK physically. The beans hit me hard at night and I felt bloated and gassy and I did have some pains caused by probably the beer (I didn’t drink to excess, maybe 3-4 beers over the course of 5 hours).

My goals are to get back down to 225lbs by my birthday (late July). So I need to figure out my food situation and how I’m going to handle temptations without becoming unfun or beating myself up to badly after the fact. I need to get active and start moving more and I want that activity to be fun.

I want a return to form this year. I want to be better, but I also want to juggle fun into it and a remediation plan when I come off the rails or when I plan to do something not on diet.

Leave a Reply

